Pretty Aprons

Cooking in Style

Black Bean Brownies with Coconut Milk Frosting January 28, 2012

Filed under: Desserts — Shannon @ 2:47 PM
Tags: , , ,

Wow, it has been over a year since I last posted.  It certainly has been an eventful year, and I could blame my absence on that, however I believe it has just been laziness on my part.  Not that I have been neglecting my kitchen!  I just haven’t been taking the time to photograph my creations before devouring them.

In the last year, I have gotten married and moved to a pretty new house (with a beautiful new kitchen!)  Our new house is so cozy that on the weekends I just want to stay home and cook.

This weekend I whipped up a batch of Black Bean Brownies for snacks for work.  And then I found this recipe on Pinterest and knew I had to try it ASAP.  The result is a sinfully delicious dessert that packs a tonne of nutrients!

Black Bean Brownies

  • 1 can of black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 2 ripe bananas
  • 1/2 cup of cocoa powder
  • 1/2 – 2 Tbsp maple syrup
  • 1 Tbsp vanilla extract

In a food processor or using an immersion blender, puree the black beans and bananas until smooth.  Mix in cocoa powder, maple syrup, and vanilla extract.  Bake at 430° F for 20 minutes or until top looks baked.  Let cool.  The result is a rich, fudgy brownie that satisfies any chocolate craving!

Coconut Milk Frosting (from Chocolate-Covered Katie)

  • 1 can Coconut Milk (full fat)
  • 1/4 cup plus 1 Tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • sweetener of choice to taste

Open can of coconut milk and place uncovered in refrigerator overnight.  Do not shake can before opening.  The coconut milk should become thick (my can was thick before refrigerating.)   Once coconut milk is thick, place in a bowl and blend together with cocoa powder and vanilla extract.  For a thicker frosting, leave out the watery liquid at the bottom of the can.  I added the “coconut water” in a little at a time until I reached the desired consistency.   Once blended and looking like frosting, taste-test and add a little sweetener at a time until to your liking.  Store uncovered in the refrigerator and it will really thicken up.  Eat as mousse, use as frosting on your favourite dessert or even try dipping strawberries in it!

Now how could you possibly resist this?

Black Bean Brownie with Coconut Milk Frosting

Currently listening to Somebody that I Used to Know by Gotye

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.